McNairs Dominate Battle Eliminations at Grand River Raceway

ELORA, ON — Elimination races for Grand River Raceway’s 23rd annual Industry Day event were contested this evening, July 29.

A total of seven elimination dashes were featured for two stake events: the $144,500 Battle Of Waterloo (ON-sired two-year-old pacing colts) and the $75,400 Battle Of The Belles (ON-sired two-year-old pacing fillies).

Both stake finals will be featured during the 11-race afternoon card valued at more than $300,000 on Monday, August 5.

It was a big night for local trainer Gregg McNair, who secured three hopefuls in the Battle Of The Belles, and two colts in the Battle Of Waterloo.


Father-son, trainer-driver duo Gregg McNair and Doug McNair dominated Battle Of The Belles action with two winners and a runner-up from three divisions. The Guelph, ON residents took the first division with race favourite Lady Shadow.

Gregg McNair conditions the Shadow Play filly for Lindsey and Connie Rankin of Lexington, MI. A winner of three from four career starts, she has banked $56,500. Arrivista Hanover (Chris Christoforou) and Justabit Mean (Sylvain Flion) rounded out the top three.

The McNairs were back in the winners circle in the next division with Momara. Doug McNair took the filly to the top from post eight to clock her third consecutive win. Gregg McNair co-owns the filly with Leonard Gamble, Don MacDonald and David Kryway. Her three-quarter length victory in 1:57.2 was followed by Yoselin Seelster (Rick Zeron) and Slick Rumor (Brad Forward).

The quickest clocking of the girls’ eliminations went to Catalea Seelster in the final round. The Stonebridge Regal miss recorded her first career win for owner James Boucher and trainer Ron Adams. Brad Forward piloted the filly to a new Canadian season record (for two-year-old fillies on a half-mile track) of 1:56.4. Can Art (Doug McNair) and Regil Meg (Jody Jamieson) rounded out the top three.


The McNairs — who won the 2008 edition of the race with Trail Boss — have two starters in the Battle Of Waterloo courtesy of division winner Three Of Clubs and runner-up OK Gladiator.

Three Of Clubs recorded his second career score during race 10 for Gregg McNair and co-owners Tony Lawrence and Shady Hill Racing Stable. The Mach Three son won by a length in 1:55.1. Sword Of the Spirit and Shadowbriand filled out the top three.

McNair’s OK Gladiator finished second to Arthur Blue Chip in race six. Owned by Shadow One Stable of Guelph, ON, Arthur Blue Chip was driven by Jody Jamieson to a two-length score in 1:55.1. The priciest yearling in the field ($135,000), the Shadow Play colt has banked $116,250 for the Shadow One Stable of Guelph, ON. He’s trained by Dr. Ian Moore who won the 2009 edition of the Battle Of Waterloo with Wellthereyougo.

Trainer Wayne McGean paid $12,500 to supplement Steady Warrior to the Battle Of Waterloo. He drew the rail in the third division, and took the lead at the first quarter with driver Sylvain Filion to record his maiden win in 1:56.2. McGean and co-owner Michael Gouthro paid just $5,000 for the Royal Mattjesty colt as a yearling. He’s now banked $67,550.

Cambridge, ON trainer Jack Darling has two prospects as he looks to secure his first Battle Of Waterloo victory. Allstar Seelster was a runner-up to Steady Warrior in elimination division three, and Cluster Hanover won the first division in 1:56. Darling owns the Badlands Hanover colt. The 3-1 shot scored his first lifetime win by a length with Jody Jamieson in 1:56, followed by P L Hellcat and Pop Pop Joe

The fifth annual Battle Of The Belles and 16th annual Battle Of Waterloo and will go postward as races nine and 11, respectively, during Industry Day at Grand River Raceway on Monday, August 5. Post time for race one is 1:30 p.m.

For complete event details, visit

Post position draws for both stake races were conducted on July 29. The following are the fields for the finals on Industry Day:


  1. THREE OF CLUBS                    tr: Gregg McNair         dr:  Doug McNair
  2. STEADY WARRIOR                  tr: Wayne McGean      dr:  Sylvain Flion
  3. POP POP JOE                           tr: Blake MacIntosh     dr:  Brad Forward
  4. ALLSTAR SEELSTER                  tr: Jack Darling                        dr:  Jody Jamieson
  5. OK GLADIATOR                       tr: Gregg McNair         dr:  Doug McNair
  6. CLUSTER HANOVER                tr: Jack Darling                        dr:  Jody Jamieson
  7. ARTHUR BLUE CHIP                tr: Dr. Ian Moore         dr:  Jody Jamieson
  8. SWORD OF THE SPIRIT           tr: Martin Lachance     dr:  Mario Baillargeon
  9. P L HELLCAT                            tr: Dan Clements         dr:  Chris Christoforou



  1. SLICK RUMOR                         tr: Blake MacIntosh     dr:  Brad Forward
  2. ARRIVISTA HANOVER              tr: Rene Laarman        dr:  Chris Christoforou
  3. CATALEA SEELSTER                 tr: Ron Adams             dr:  Brad Forward
  4. LADY SHADOW                       tr: Gregg McNair         dr:  Doug McNair
  5. CAN ART                                  tr: Gregg McNair         dr:  Doug McNair
  6. YOSELIN SEELSTER                  tr: Ben Wallace           dr:  Rick Zeron
  7. REGIL MEG                              tr: Reg Westgarth       dr:  Jody Jamieson
  8. MOMARA                                tr: Gregg McNair         dr:  Doug McNair
  9. JUSTABIT MEAN                      tr: Murray Brethour     dr:  Sylvain Filion

– 30 –

PHOTOS: Iron Horse Photo Inc.